Home > Blog > Uncategorised > Winner of SLS 2017 Best Paper Prize Announced

Winner of SLS 2017 Best Paper Prize Announced

9th October 2017

Dear all,

I am delighted to announce that the SLS 2017 Best Paper Prize has been awarded to David Mangan (City) for his paper ‘Reconsidering Defamation as a 21st Century Tort’, which was presented within the Media Law section.  The paper will appear in the first issue of Legal Studies in 2018.  Many congratulations, David!

Congratulations are also due to the following who were shortlisted for the prize:

  • Andrew Keay and Joan Loughrey (Leeds), who presented ‘The Concept of Business Judgment’ in the Company Law section;
  • Paul Roberts (Nottingham), who presented ‘Five Foundational Fallacies of Common Law Evidence’ in the Criminal Justice section;
  • Sally Sheldon (Kent), Gayle Davies (Edinburgh), Jane O’Neill (Edinburgh) and Clare Parker (Kent), who presented ‘The Abortion Act (1967): a Biography’ in the Legal History section.

We would like to thank all those who entered the competition.  The field was very strong again this year, which made judging a very challenging but rewarding task.  Please do consider entering in 2018!

With best wishes,


Annette Morris
Reader, Cardiff School of Law and Politics
Subject Sections Secretary, Society of Legal Scholars

Leave a Reply