Society of Legal Scholars

Events

The Society places details of events which may be of interest its members on these pages. These events are not administered by the Society and we are in no way responsible for them unless the contrary is indicated. Please note that some of these notices refer to series of seminars or lectures.

Lecture: EFTA and the EEA for Brexit – ideal solution, “lifeboat” or neither?

  • Tuesday 22nd January 2019
  • A110, College Building, City, University of London, St John Street, London EC1V 4PB

Talk: From Sanctions to Nonviolence – Assessing the Alternatives to War

  • Thursday 24th January 2019
  • University of Leicester

Conference: The Legacy of the League of Nations

  • Thursday 31st January 2019
  • University of Leicester Centre for European Law and Internationalisation 

Lecture: Brexit and the Law

  • Friday 1st February 2019
  • D221, City, University of London, Northampton Square, London EC1V 0HB

Book Launch: Online Misogyny as a Hate Crime

  • Tuesday 5th February 2019
  • Royal Scots Club, Edinburgh

Conference: Law and Social Transformation

  • Saturday 9th February 2019
  • Lancaster University Law School 

Symposium: Financial Law Amity

  • Monday 11th February 2019
  • National University of Singapore

Book Launch: Online Misogyny as a Hate Crime

  • Tuesday 12th February 2019
  • Norwegian Church Arts Centre, Cardiff Bay

Lecture: What does Brexit tell us about the evolution of EU citizenship?

  • Wednesday 13th February 2019
  • D221, City, University of London, Northampton Square, London EC1V 0HB

How to get a PhD in Law (Day Two): The PhD journey – supervision, research ethics and preparing yourself for upgrade and vivas

  • Thursday 28th February 2019
  • Institute of Advanced Legal Studies, 17 Russell Square, London WC1B 5DR

Conference: Law Commission Hate Crime Research

  • Friday 8th March 2019
  • Oxford Brookes University

Workshop: The ‘Acceptable’ Cartel? Horizontal Agreements under Competition Law and Beyond

  • Friday 22nd March 2019
  • London School of Economics and Political Science

Seminar: Britain Outside The EU – The State of Play

  • Tuesday 2nd April 2019
  • Northampton Suite, City, University of London, Northampton Square, London EC1V 0HB

Conference: Legal Resilience in an Era of Hybrid Threats

  • Monday 8th April 2019
  • University of Exeter

Workshop: The International dimension of Competition Law – EU, Brexit and beyond…

  • Thursday 25th April 2019
  • Queen Mary University of London

Training Day: How to get a PhD in Law (Day Three) – researching, disseminating and publishing in the digital world

  • Friday 10th May 2019
  • Institute of Advanced Legal Studies, 17 Russell Square, London WC1B 5DR

Roundtable: The Limits of Law

  • Thursday 23rd May 2019
  • Instituto Jurídico da Faculdade de Direito da Universidade de Coimbra (UCILeR - University of Coimbra Institute for Legal Research), Portugal

Conference: Impact and Law Reform

  • Tuesday 11th June 2019
  • Institute of Advanced Legal Study, Charles Clore House, 17 Russell Square, London WC1B 5DR.

PhD Summer School 

  • Monday 17th June 2019
  • University of Copenhagen

W G Hart Legal Workshop 2019: Pensions – Law, Policy and Practice

  • Thursday 20th June 2019
  • Institute of Advanced Legal Studies, 17 Russell Square, London WC1B 5DR

Symposium: Lawyering in a Digital Age – Equipping students for the technologically-advancing practice of law 

  • Thursday 27th June 2019
  • University of Cumbria, Ambleside Lake District campus

Symposium: Television drama, law and national identity

  • Friday 6th September 2019
  • University of Westminster

Women’s Legal Landmarks – In Conversation

  • Friday 13th December 2019
  • Institute of Advanced Legal Studies

W G Hart Legal Workshop 2020

  • Tuesday 30th June 2020
  • Institute of Advanced Legal Studies, 17 Russell Square, London WC1B 5DR