Home > Emeriti Members

Emeriti Members

The Council may elect to be an Emeritus Member of the Society in recognition of services rendered to legal education any person who has been a member of the Society and who has ceased or substantially ceased to be engaged in law teaching and/or legal scholarship.  See further Rule 7 of Society’s Rules. Colleagues who were awarded Emerita/Emeritus title at their home institution will be deemed by the Society to have met the above requirement.

The current emeriti are:

Professor J A Andrews CBE
Professor CJ Barton
Professor John Bell
Professor John Birds
Professor Richard Card
Professor Brice Dickson
Professor Tony Dugdale
Professor Gabriele Ganz
Professor Sir Roy M Goode CBE KC FBA
Professor Laurence Gormley
Professor Nigel P Gravells
Professor Carol Harlow KC FBA
The Hon. Justice D J Hayton
Professor L H Leigh
Professor Alexander McCall-Smith
Professor David Miers
Professor Annette Morris
Professor JG Miller
Professor Sir Peter North CBE KC FBA
Professor E Orucu
Professor Martin Partington CBE KC (Hon)
Professor Alan Paterson OBE
Professor J S Read
Professor Kenneth Reid
Professor Francis D Rose
Professor L A Sheridan
Professor Keith Stanton
Professor W. L. Twining KC FBA
Professor Michael Zander KC FBA

Former Emeriti Members

Professor HK Bevan JP
Professor WR Cornish FBA