Home > The Executive

The Executive

The Executive Committee has the power to manage the affairs of the Society. It enjoys the power to direct or approve expenditure of the Society’s funds. The Executive may also provide for such committees as it may from time to time deem useful. The Executive is accountable to the Council for all its activities and actions.

Elected Members of the Executive Committee

The current membership of the Executive is:

Officers of the Society and Other Ex Officio Members of Executive

President Professor Rebecca Probert, Exeter
Vice-President Professor Thom Brooks, Durham
Vice President-Elect Professor Catharine MacMillan, KCL
Immediate Past President Professor Richard Taylor, UCLAN
Honorary Secretary Professor Paula Giliker, Bristol
Honorary Treasurer Professor Lucy Vickers, Oxford Brookes
Honorary Membership Secretary Professor Duncan Sheenan, Leeds
Convenor for Scotland Professor Colin Reid, Dundee
Convenor for Ireland Dr Desmond Ryan, TCD
Secretary of the Subject Sections Mr James Lee, KCL
Joint Editors of Legal Studies Professor Nicola Glover-Thomas and Dr Bruce Wardhaugh, Manchester
Editor of The Reporter Professor Catharine MacMillan, KCL
Chair of Legal Education Sub-Cmte Professor Stephen Bailey, Nottingham
Social Media Ms Natalie Wortley, Northumbria  (co-opted)
Chair of EDI Committee Mr Navraj Singh Ghaleigh, Edinburgh

Ordinary Members of Executive

Appointment Period
2019-22 Dr Sarah Fulham-McQuillan, UCD
2019-22 Dr Devyani Prabhat, Bristol
2018-21 Dr Greta Bosch, Exeter
2018-21 Professor Stephen Hardy, Coventry
2018-21 Professor Maria Lee, UCL
2018-21 Dr Guido Noto La Deiga, Northumbria
2017-20 Professor David Marrani, Jersey Institute
2017-20 Dr Peter Coe
2017-20 Dr Marek Martyniszyn, QUB

Rule 19 (g) makes provision for elections to the Executive and reads as follows:

‘nine members of the Society of whom three shall be ‘recent’ members of the Society (being members of recent professional standing who, at the date of their election, have fewer than eight years’ membership), such persons to be appointed by the Council to the Executive Committee to serve for no more than three years. Once appointed to serve for a three-year term and re-elected for a further three-year term, a member shall not be eligible for re-appointment until one year after expiry of such term. In appointing such nine members as set out in sub-paragraph (g) above, Council shall, so far as practicable, procure a reasonable balance in such appointments, taking account of factors such as gender, ethnicity, regional representation, type of institution and subject section representation. Notices of all motions, including the names of proposers and seconders, shall reach the Honorary Secretary at least fourteen days before the day fixed for holding the meeting.’