Home > Peter Birks Prizes for Outstanding Legal Scholarship

Peter Birks Prizes for Outstanding Legal Scholarship

The 2020 prize is now closed.  The next deadline for nominations to the Peter Birks Prizes for Outstanding Legal Scholarship is Friday 28 May 2021. Please read the below and the Prize Rules (download below) for more information.

About the Prizes

Each year the Society offers two prizes for outstanding published books by scholars in their early careers. The prizes will be presented at the annual dinner of the Society at the Annual Conference. The value of the prizes will be £1,000 for the first prize and £300 for the second prize. The judges may decide to award one prize or not to award a prize, or may decide to divide the whole sum or either prize between two winners. The judges will be the President of the Society, the Vice-President and the Immediate Past President. They will be entitled to take advice from such professorial members of the Society as they see fit. The following notice concerns the arrangements for the award of the Peter Birks Prizes. It is expected that the publishers of the nominated books will provide three copies, one for each of the three judges, and these will not be returned. It is also the intention that after the full list of nominated books has been submitted to the Executive Committee, it will be placed on the Society’s website.

The shortlist will also be placed on the website once determined by the judges, which should be one month before the Annual Conference. The rules are strictly adhered to.

Particularly note the rules regarding membership of the Society, nomination and the need for the author’s consent. Nominations should be sent to the Administrative Secretary, Rosa Bladon, before the closing date. The Proforma Nomination Form  must be used.

Download: Book Prize Rules  (Revised 2020).

Birks Book Prize Winners 2019

Dr Oisin Suttle (Belfast) is the winner of the Peter Birks Book Prize for Outstanding Legal Scholarship (2019) for Distributive Justice and World Trade Law – A Political Theory of International Trade Regulation (Cambridge University Press).

There were two joint runners up: Dr Noam Gur (QMUL) – Legal Directives and Practical Reasons (Oxford University Press) and Dr Hélène Tyrrell (Newcastle)  – Human Rights in the UK and the Influence of Foreign Jurisprudence (Hart Publishing).

Birks Book Prize Winners 2018

Dr Nimer Sultany (SOAS) is the winner of the Peter Birks Book Prize for Outstanding Legal Scholarship (2018) for Law and Revolution: Legitimacy and Constitutionalism After the Arab Spring. (OUP).

Runner-up: Dr Lydia Hayes (Cardiff) for Stories of Care: A Labour of Law. Gender and Class at Work. (Palgrave)

Birks Book Prize Winners 2017

Devyani Prabhat (Bristol)  is the winner of the Peter Birks Book Prize for Outstanding Legal Scholarship (2017) for Unleashing the Force of Law; Legal Mobilization, National Security, and Basic Freedoms. (Palgrave MacMillan).

Runner-up: Alysia Blackham (Melbourne) for Extending Working Life for Older Workers: Age Discrimination Law, Policy and Practice.  (Hart Publishing)

Birks Book Prize Winners 2016

Jason Varuhas, (Melbourne) is the winner of the Peter Birks Book Prize for Outstanding Legal Scholarship (2016) for Damages and Human Rights (Hart Publishing).

There were two joint runners up: Janina Dill, for Legitimate Targets? Social Construction, International Law and US Bombing (Cambridge University Press) and Sandy Steel, for Proof of Causation in Tort Law (Cambridge University Press).

Winners 2015

Katja LH Samuel, University of Reading – Judging The OIC, the UN, and Counter-Terrorism Law-Making: Conflicting or Cooperative Legal Orders? (Studies in International Law, Hart Publishing),

Runners-up: Paul S Davies,University of Oxford, Accessory Liability (Hart Studies in Private Law: Hart Publishing).

Winners 2014

Dr Jeff King, of UCL, Judging Social Rights (Cambridge Studies in Constitutional Law, CUP).

Runners-up:  Dr James Goudkamp (Oxford University)  Tort Law Defences (Hart Studies in Private Law, Hart Publishing);

and to Dr Jure Vidmar, (Oxford University) with his book Democratic Statehood in International Law: The Emergence of New States in Post-Cold War Practice (Studies in International Law, Hart Publishing).

Winner 2013

Erika Rackley,  “Women, Judging and the Judiciary: From Difference to Diversity”, ( Routledge Cavendish).