Society of Legal Scholars

The Society of Legal Scholars Conference 2017 – Call For Papers/Panels @slsdublin2017 @UCDLawSchool

2nd February 2017

The Society of Legal Scholars Conference – Call For Papers/Panels

The call for papers and panels for the 2017 SLS Annual Conference, to be held at University College Dublin from Tuesday 5th September – Friday 8th September, is now open.  This year’s theme is ‘The Diverse Unities of Law’.

Our subject sections are distributed equally across both halves of the conference as outlined below.  This year, we are also running ‘trial’ sections on Conflict of Laws and Energy Law, as there is interest in creating new sections in these areas.  For the list of subjects sorted by section, please click here.

If you are interested in delivering a paper or organising a panel, please submit your paper abstract or panel details by midnight on Monday 27th March.  All abstracts and panel details must be submitted through the EasyChair conference system which can be accessed using the following link: https://easychair.org/conferences/?conf=sls2017.  Full instructions on how to use the EasyChair system can be found here.  If you experience any issues in using EasyChair, please contact Jed Meers at jed.meers@york.ac.uk.

We would welcome proposals for papers and panels on any issue relating to the subject sections, including those addressing this year’s conference theme.  If you have any queries about where your paper or panel would best fit, please do not hesitate to contact Annette Morris, the Subject Sections Secretary, at MorrisA7@cardiff.ac.uk.  Those with queries for specific sections should contact the relevant convenor.  Their contact details are listed below.

Those wishing to present a paper should submit a title and abstract of around 300 words, whilst those wishing to propose a panel should submit a document outlining the theme and rationale for the panel and the names of the proposed speakers (who must have agreed to participate) and their abstracts.  Sessions are 90 minutes in length and so we recommend panels of three to four speakers, though the conference organisers reserve the right to add speakers to panels in the interests of balance and diversity.

As the SLS is keen to ensure that as many members with good quality papers as possible are able to present, we discourage speakers from presenting more than one paper at the conference.  With this in mind, when you submit an abstract via EasyChair you will be asked to note if you are also responding to calls for papers or panels from other sections.

Please note that the SLS offers a Best Paper Prize which can be awarded to academics at any stage of their career and which is open to those presenting papers individually or within a panel.  The Prize carries a £250 monetary award and the winning paper will be published in the first issue of Legal Studies in 2018.  To be eligible:
– speakers must be fully paid-up members of the SLS;
– papers must not exceed 12,000 words including footnotes (as counted in Word);
– papers must be uploaded to EasyChair by midnight on Monday 28th August; and
– papers must not have been published previously or have been accepted or be under consideration for publication.

Please note that speakers need to book and pay to attend the conference and will need to register for the conference by Friday 30th June in order to secure their place within the programme (though do contact Annette Morris at MorrisA7@cardiff.ac.uk if this is likely to pose a problem). Booking information will be circulated in due course.

Subject Section Convenors:
Banking
Christopher Hare
christopher.hare@law.ox.ac.uk

Civil Liberties and Human Rights
Ruvi Ziegler
r.ziegler@reading.ac.uk

Company
Lorraine Talbot
Roseanne Russell
Lorraine.talbot@york.ac.uk
RussellR8@cardiff.ac.uk

Comparative
David Marrani
Greta Bosch
David.Marrani@lawinstitute.ac.je
G.S.Bosch@exeter.ac.uk

Conflict of Laws (trial)
Andrew Dickinson
andrew.dickinson@stcatz.ox.ac.uk

Contract, Commercial & Consumer
Dania Thomas
Dania.Thomas@glasgow.ac.uk

Criminal Justice
Hannah Quirk
Natalie Wortley
hannah.quirk@manchester.ac.uk
n.wortley@northumbria.ac.uk

Cyberlaw
Paul Bernal
paul.bernal@uea.ac.uk

Legal Education
Caroline Strevens
caroline.strevens@portsmouth.ac.uk

Energy Law (trial)
Raphael Heffron
r.heffron@qmul.ac.uk

Environmental
Julie Adshead
j.adhsead@mmu.ac.uk

EU and Competition
Annette Nordhausen Scholes
Annette.NordhausenScholes@manchester.ac.uk

Family
Amy Purvis
amy.purvis@sunderland.ac.uk

Legal History
Gwen Seabourne
G.C.Seabourne@bristol.ac.uk

Intellectual Property
Claire Howell
c.f.howell@aston.ac.uk

International
Chris Henderson
Philippa Webb
C.M. Henderson@sussex.ac.uk
Philippa.webb@kcl.ac.uk

Jurisprudence
Femi Ilesanmi
Rebecca Moosavian
o.ilesanmi@rgu.ac.uk
rebecca.moosavian@northumbria.ac.uk

Labour
Rebecca Zahn
rebecca.zahn@strath.ac.uk

Maritime
Leon Moller
L.E.Moller@rgu.ac.uk

Media & Communication
Paul Wragg
P.M.Wragg@leeds.ac.uk

Medical
Mary Neal
Mary.Neal@strath.ac.uk

Migration
Violeta Moreno Lax
Diego Acosta Arcarazo
v.moreno-lax@qmul.ac.uk
d.acosta@bristol.ac.uk

Practice, Profession & Ethics
Carla Crifo
cc116@leicester.ac.uk

Property & Trusts
Simon Cooper
simoncooper@brookes.ac.uk

Public
Ann Lyon
John Stanton
ann.lyon@plymouth.ac.uk
john.stanton.1@city.ac.uk

Restitution
James Lee
Tatiana Cutts
james.lee@kcl.ac.uk
t.cutts@lse.ac.uk

Tax
Anzhela Cedelle
anzhela.cedelle@sbs.ox.ac.uk

Torts
James Goudkamp
james.goudkamp@law.ox.ac.uk

Leave a Reply